Day 1: Vegetarian Low Carb Induction 225 lbs

coffee

I LOVE LOVE LOVE coffee! I am a huge snob and prefer to make it myself.  I am addicted to either French Press or Percolated coffee; there’s something about the amazing oils of the beans that are lost when use a filter.  That being said, I’m going to let you in in a dirty little secret of mine.  I will take my beautiful coffee and pour Sugar Free French Vanilla Coffemate in it!  Can you believe it?  It has to do with my grandmother.  She used stir in the International House of Coffee French Vanilla Cappuccino into my coffee and it makes me feel like she’s sitting here with me when I drink it.

Well, today is Day 1 of induction.  I woke up super hungry because I didn’t eat any dinner last night.  I’m not sure why, I just couldn’t bring myself to hobble down to the kitchen for something.  I had kind of a bad foot day yesterday (I’m recovering from foot surgery.)

The Boyfriend was going to take me grocery shopping (I can’t drive yet) but he ended up having to work until close to 9pm last night.  He’s been working CRAZY hours lately.  He works from home, but has been straight out as well as being my caretaker.  Poor guy.

I digress..  so today is day 1.  Part of me wanted to put it off another day so I could have everything I “need” for the first day, but the larger (haha pun intended) part of me said, “Bitch, get off your fat ass and start today like you planned!”

So, here I am.. which brings me to coffee.  I know I can have heavy cream in my coffee, but as someone who was vegan for a long time, it grosses me out a bit to think of that. (Now whipped cream, hell yeah! I would like that, but that is a ridiculous amount of work to do in the morning for coffee!).  I’ve heard of people putting butter in their coffee.. so I figured a little bit of coconut oil would be tasty. I put around 1/2 tsp of coconut oil per large cup and it’s pretty good.

I do need to get to the store today and stock up on staples, but if that’s not possible, I have enough to get started for the day.

I will probably be posting  A LOT during this induction. First, I have tons of time on my hands and second, I want to hold myself accountable.  My way of eating and cooking is changing SO MUCH. I a counting EVERYTHING during the induction, including SPICES.  OMG, who knew that spices had so many carbs? When the induction is over, I plan on adding spices back in as well as not restricting non-starchy vegetables.  I am not following any PLAN, rather, I am taking bits and pieces of things I’ve read.  I am not married to any specific idea about what will or will not work; this is an experiment and I will switch it up if I’m not losing weight.

The only thing that I am committed to in black and white right now is the 20 net carbs per day for two weeks of induction and drinking 1 gallon of water per day.

225 lbs Day 1 of Induction

225 lbs Day 1 of Induction

Picture1501

190 lbs, Summer 2012

Note the very bloated face.. bleh.  This is very different than I looked around a year ago.  I was walking 6-12 miles per day at the time and eating whatever I wanted, which was a mostly vegan diet with lots of veggies, whole grains and legumes.  I’ve been through HELL the last year though, healthwise and am ready to take charge of my weight and health again.  Vanity plays a part; not being able to fit in any clothes plays a part, but mostly, I just want to feel comfortable in my own skin.

About melodypolakow

A rational approach to plant-based eating. Plant-based expertise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1: Vegetarian Low Carb Induction 225 lbs

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Low Carb Recipes: Induction Friendly French Vanilla Coffee Creamer | Changing my diet and recovering from foot surgery!

Leave a Reply

